Are You Friggin' Kidding Me?

One Bostonian's Misadventures in Dating

Some catching up

3 Comments

Mr. Baseball is still in the picture, I guess. I mean, we still chat and I’m still very VERY much interested in him. It’s just tiring though. He lives 2 hours away and works even more than I do. I want to hang out with him so much, but it’s impossible to pin him down. He’s texting less now, but I attribute that to him being busy. He says he likes me and that he’s not tired of me, and I’ll take that literally for now. I feel that’s the easiest way to go about dating- I try to take men literally. Much better for my head if I don’t over think things. 

So for now, I guess I’ll keep my options open. I’ve started looking a little more on OKCupid and even on FetLife (oh yea, buddy, it’s super fun). I’m starting to feel a little lonely and wanting to feel excited about dating. It’s hard though, knowing someone so RIGHT for me is unattainable right now. I’d like to hold a torch for him, but I don’t want to miss out on something right here if he’s not going to hold it back for me.

That being said, life is crazy busy. I’m trying to land a new day job since mine is stressing me out to the max. Fenway is still as amazing as ever. And I mean that- amazing. I’m glad that I’ve had that to keep me company all summer. I haven’t really felt all that lonely because Fenway is like my own kind of boyfriend. I love that building so much and everything in it. I’m swept off my feet every night that I’m there. I love everything there and it loves me back. It’s only been recently that I’ve started to feel lonely, what with the season dying down and meeting Mr. Baseball (and not being able to keep him). I’m hoping that I’ll be able to find something to fill up the time I’ll miss when the baseball season is over. We’ll see. 

Author: Jane Champagne

I'm a single late 20s chick, living in Boston. I go on a lot of horrible dates, but some good ones, too.

3 thoughts on “Some catching up

  1. I stopped using okc a few weeks ago after one too many awkward dates lol. My coworker showed me cliqie.com and I’m a big fan of that over the others in terms of actually meeting people vs. just entertainment. It has a different approach that feels less sketchy cause you and your friends essentially act as “wingmen”. I like that it helps you find things to do too. Skout’s okay too, but still has it’s fair share of creepers

    • I actually do some work in the Online Dating Industry. I’m working on a new online dating site (I was with FriendFlirt, which didn’t pan out, but this new one seems like it will) I’ve been on so many sites. I’m hoping for something to actually work though. I’ll have to try those you mentioned.

  2. “It’s hard though, knowing someone so RIGHT for me is unattainable right now. I’d like to hold a torch for him, but I don’t want to miss out on something right here if he’s not going to hold it back for me.” These two sentences are everything. Been there. I find that closure in thesev situations comes as a shock. Ie: you find out something you don’t want to know or something unexpected happens and you’re forced to move on.

Leave a Reply

