Are You Friggin' Kidding Me?

One Bostonian's Misadventures in Dating

The return of Baby Bender

4 Comments

Remember Baby Bender?

So every now and then we message each other, via facebook or texting. Mostly one-liners or something about Mark Wahlberg (he’s a fangirl like me). Anyway, he was going to meet up with me on St. Patrick’s Day, but never did make it out. He texted me the next day to apologize and we chatted for a little bit. I told him that I was planning on hitting up 90s night on Friday and it was in his neck of the woods if he wanted to join. Of course he was totally down and we started planning out outfits. Granted, this 90s night is super fun, but no one dresses in costumes. Both of us are costume geeks, but we played it cool for this event.

So Friday rolled around and I took my roommate and my Gym BFF (we’ll call her The Sheriff from now on, since I reference her a lot and that’s her nickname anyway) downtown. We went over to BB’s apartment which is in the heart of downtown Boston. It was the first time I’d seen him since Hurricane Sandy when he stayed at my apartment. He gave me a huge hug and took the three of us upstairs to pregame. He got along fabulously with my friends and then “yelled” at me for changing my outfit from what I told him I was going to wear. After a quick beer, we shuffled over to 90s night.

It was a lot of fun. The DJ is a friend of mine and we all had a great time. BB had a few friends meet us at the bar and they were a good time, too. He and I spent most of the night catching up and after a bit he put his arm around me. I followed suit, but didn’t read much into it.

We did chat, however, about him joining my gym. He used to box and wants to get back into it. I told him about The Boxing Instructor and how I sometimes go work out super late at night to just do regular boxing. He seems super interested and is thinking about coming in for a free trial. So yay for that!

We walked back towards his place, grabbed some pizza along the way, and he helped us hail a cab. Downtown Boston at 2am is a NIGHTMARE, so it was pretty sweet of him to stick around until we got into a car. He gave me a big hug as I left and then texted me a little bit later to make sure I got home safely.

We decided that we should hang out again soon.

Today I texted him and told him to grab some bunny ears because he would be joining me tomorrow (Good Friday) for the Boston Bunny Bar-Hop. He responded a few minutes later saying “Just picked up some ears!” so we’ll be having a fabulously good time in costume tomorrow evening.

Even if nothing ever happens between the two of us, I just love having him around. He’s just too adorable and sweet!

Author: Jane Champagne

I'm a single late 20s chick, living in Boston. I go on a lot of horrible dates, but some good ones, too.

4 thoughts on “The return of Baby Bender

  1. I get the ‘thank you had fun text’ from girls who are keen to see me again and the ones who decide not to see me. I find I glean nothing from the ‘thank you’ text, unless it’s at a late hour, with a good night thrown in there too.

  2. Ah, the magic of a new romance… 😉 I like how, despite all of your misadventures, you’re always so adorably happy at the promise of something new.

  3. Pingback: Every Bunny loves a good Bar Hop | Are You Friggin' Kidding Me?

Leave a Reply

