Are You Friggin' Kidding Me?

One Bostonian's Misadventures in Dating

Baby Bender

6 Comments

So a few posts back, when I discussed the Rugby Player, I mentioned a guy that I thought fit my Smoosh Requirements and was really excited about him. Here is where I’ll talk about him, finally.

So he messaged me on OKCupid and sent just a “hey how are you” message. I wouldn’t have written back to him normally, but I saw his profile and decided he was pretty cute, despite being only 23. However, what caught my attention was in the “Most private thing I’m willing to mention” section. He has a tattoo of this obscure internet cartoon character that I LOVE, so I messaged him back immediately, telling him how much I wanted to see the tattoo.

We chatted a little bit during that day. He told me he liked that I like the Philadelphia Flyers (He’s from New Jersey, so he loves Philadelphia sports and they’re my other teams, minus hockey since I HATE the Bruins). We decided to meet up for a drink the next night.

We met up at this bar and he was way cuter in person. I’m naming him Baby Bender because he looked like a friend of mine from college that was nicknamed Bender. When I mentioned that to my lady friends, they were EXTREMELY jealous, so that’s obviously a good thing. He had this surfer-stoner voice that I found hilarious and quite adorable.

We got some beers and were getting along fine when a friend of his (and his friend, too) randomly showed up. He introduced us and the friend quickly realized that we were on a date, so he left us alone. After a while, I went to the restroom and came back and the friend came over and asked if he could get us a pitcher for all of us to split. The four of us chatted and got along really well when the other two left. I was really clicking with Baby Bender and was totally surprised since I just had told myself I wasn’t looking for a relationship. Looking at him, he looked like this goofy stoner kid, but turns out he’s incredibly smart, is an engineer (who just moved to Boston only weeks before our date), was in a fraternity, did Navy ROTC, played in a ska band, and was a boxer. Oh hello my perfect match!

2 am and closing time came by rather quickly, so we left and agreed to hang out again soon.

We started a texting relationship after the date and I don’t know if I’ve ever met someone who’s made me laugh so much. He is hilarious and I couldn’t wait to hang out with him again. It was almost Halloween and I had to go to the costume shop to pick up some accessories for my costume. I told him about the store (which is 3 stories and awesome) and he said that he wanted to go sometime and have a sword fight through the store.

So on our second date, a few days after our first, I took him to the costume shop and we played with every toy weapon there. He also tried on every crazy costume and was just a blast to be around. After shopping, we went to this crazy diner that’s across the street for pancakes and PBR. We drank quite a bit and talked about math and college and stuff.

We left at closing time and headed off to the train station. He was heading inbound and I was heading out, so we had our goodbye on the street. We hugged and then just started kissing- right there in the middle of MIT. Huge makeout session, surrounded by nerds. I’m not complaining.

He went to NYC that weekend, but Hurricane Sandy was scheduled to hit Sunday night. I ended up not having to go to work on Monday, so he suggested that he come over and we have a Law and Order: SVU marathon and order shitty takeout. Seriously- I was ready to propose to the kid. He trudged over here in the storm and we snuggled on the couch and watched SVU. My roommate came home and hung out with us for a bit, too. After awhile, we ended up putting The Fighter on, since we both LOVE Mark Wahlberg (um, duhhh) and boxing. And Mickey Ward and Massachusetts, too.

Throughout the day/night he was incredibly sweet. Not too touchy-feely. He ended up staying over that night and didn’t try ANYTHING. He just cuddled me close to him and we’d kiss, but that was it. I was pretty impressed and didn’t think too much of it.

The next day, I had to get up early for work so he got up and left when I did. He gave me a kiss as he left.

So yea- that was it. We were supposed to hang out a few more times, but it never happened. He didn’t respond to text messages for several hours, if at all. He would cancel dates or not get back to me about rescheduling. So I just gave up on it (and then I met MMM anyway, so it’s all good).

However, we are still friendly. We’re friends on facebook and we’ll chat back and forth a little. Example- he asked me this morning on my wall if I saw the Pacquiao-Marquez fight and I had to tell him about the sequel for The Fighter coming out. We’ve discussed having a Rocky marathon (in which I also invited my boxing friends, too), so I think that being just friends with him is totally okay. I completely adore him, in a cool relaxed way.

Author: Jane Champagne

I'm a single late 20s chick, living in Boston. I go on a lot of horrible dates, but some good ones, too.

6 thoughts on “Baby Bender

  1. OMG I love him for you!!! I wonder why things didn’t end up working out, they sounded like they were going so well!! Maybe bad timing on his end??

    • He’s absolutely adorable. I’m glad things didn’t go too far, just so we can stay friends. I have no idea what happened with him, but it’s fine now. 🙂 Maybe someday I’ll ask him, haha

  2. Pingback: Oh, hi. I’m still alive. | Are You Friggin' Kidding Me?

  3. Pingback: The girl that every other girl hates | Are You Friggin' Kidding Me?

  4. Pingback: The return of Baby Bender | Are You Friggin' Kidding Me?

  5. Pingback: Wow, okay, so here’s a rundown of what’s up | Are You Friggin' Kidding Me?

Leave a Reply

