Are You Friggin' Kidding Me?

One Bostonian's Misadventures in Dating

Should I just go for it?

11 Comments

I haven’t heard from Mini Marky Mark since Friday night. Not that it’s that big of a deal, but I’m wondering if I should just go ahead and send then first “hello” message.

I think I should just go ahead. What say all of you?

This leads me to my next question: I’d like to hear all of your thoughts on messaging (texting, email, etc) when it comes to the beginning stages of dating. How long is too long to wait for a response? Does anyone actually call other people anymore? I’d like to write a post for Singleosophy about it, once I compile my data.

 

Update: I texted him and he replied instantly. Fellas just love JC 😉

Author: Jane Champagne

I'm a single late 20s chick, living in Boston. I go on a lot of horrible dates, but some good ones, too.

11 thoughts on “Should I just go for it?

  1. Those awkward texts following the first meeting are THE WORST. The good news, I think, is that they don’t really matter as long as you don’t get really weird. Personally, if I had gotten as close with someone as MMM did with you, I would probably call within a day or two and just touch base. Often, though, I will end up in these long texting convos while we feel each other out. Usually, at some point, one of us proposes a second meetup and we go from there.

    That MMM hasn’t contacted you isn’t necessarily a bad thing. It could mean that he is just busy or that he is especially nervous. Maybe he was a little bit too drunk and he isn’t sure if he made a fool of himself.

    Absolutely you can be the first to text him. I think, especially when it comes to something as throwaway as text messaging, it’s okay to reverse gender roles a little.

    • Thanks buddy! I sent him a “hey how are you” message. I wasn’t too worried about it, but I didn’t want to miss out on the opportunity, if he’s still interested.

  2. The only two guys I actually liked since my ex both actually called me at the beginning to set up plans. We rarely texted. Other people text way too much. I prefer to keep texting minimal and prefer a phone call.

  3. establish your communication levels early on. I believe that texting is tacky, especially in the beginning. don’t you want that live interaction with a potential partner? Don’t you want to hear the teasing or serious tone in his voice? … texting is way to open to misinterpretation. and it is for pussies. If you don’t have time to make a phone call, then you don’t have time for a relationship. just my opinion.

  4. I personally prefer to text if I’m busy and can’t really talk on the phone (which unfortunately is almost always). But I will say the guy in the last post I wrote usually calls me in opposed to texting me, so maybe that’s a sign??

  5. I hate being called … I love to talk in person … but in between I just prefer texting. I will send the first text if I like a guy … not a problem. Hope you get date two 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

