Are You Friggin' Kidding Me?

One Bostonian's Misadventures in Dating

Mini Marky Mark

15 Comments

So, contrary to popular belief, I do actually meet boys the normal way. Last night is no exception.

A guy from my gym invited a bunch of us out for his birthday. There was a big dinner at this Fire&Ice place (which I skipped out on), but agreed to meet up with the group at the bar/club after dinner.

Around 9, I went to Hong Kong (which by the way is an amazing Chinese restaurant in Harvard Square that has a regular bar on the second floor and a club dance floor on the third…it’s nuts), and there was this HUGE group of people. Turns out there was a charity event for Movember that was going on. For $10, you got a wristband that got you unlimited amounts of PBR.

Already, I’m in heaven. I’m somewhat of a hipster (my friends refer to me as the Hipster Queen since I’m older than the hipsters you’re thinking about, so clearly I’ve done everything before it was cool….). PBR is my “beer” of choice. Sad, I know, since I live in Craft Beer Heaven, but I don’t care. I’m not a big beer drinker, but I’ll enjoy my PBR Tallboys.

Anyway, the birthday boy and his large group of friends show up and I told them about the PBR shenanigans. We already had 4 scorpion bowls going, but who says no to basically free beer? Not us. I’m the only one there from the gym, other than the birthday boy (and later another guy, who I adore, joined us which was awesome), so he introduced me to everyone. There were quite a few attractive men there, including one shorter guy that sort of looked like Mark Wahlberg in the face. I say shorter, because he’s about my height (5’6ish), so yea.

After several, several drinks, the birthday boy and I corralled everyone upstairs to the club to dance. Things are a little fuzzy here, but not too terrible. I may have drunkenly texted The Not-Boyfriend and the newest boy that I haven’t written about yet, but luckily I was smart enough to only write “hi!” haha oh man. I smartened up and texted my two texting BFFs (LoML being one of them) and then went back to dancing with my new friends.

At some point, I was off to the side when the birthday boy came over with the Mini Marky Mark. I don’t know what ended up happening, but birthday boy ended up dancing off and Mini Marky Mark stayed with me. He complimented me on wearing Chuck Taylors, say that I’m obviously cooler than him (to which I drunkenly added “Well, I’m cooler than most people”). He, as well as everyone throughout the night, asked me how I knew the birthday boy and I said that we went to the same MMA gym. I explained what Muay Thai was and he thought it was way cool. Duh, it is.

While discussing Muay Thai, he asked me what move I would do if I was in a fight at that exact moment and he was my opponent. Before he finished his sentence, I threw my elbow at his face. I wasn’t THAT drunk, so I knew what I was doing. I didn’t hit him at all, but I’m sure it looked scary to him. He just stood there and said “Wow, whoa, okay, that was cool”. We laughed it off.

We ended up dancing together, which ended up as making out. Luckily, we weren’t too obnoxious and sucking face on the middle of the dance floor. Just small kisses, really. After a little while he says that he’s glad I didn’t elbow him in the face. I agreed and said that this was much better than dealing with a bloody nose.

Seriously- I am soooo charming sometimes.

Anyway, we danced for a bit and then just started talking about ourselves. I gave him my number and we chatted for a bit. He was pretty sweet, I won’t lie.

It was time to go home and he asked how I got there. I said that I had walked since I live near Harvard Square. He told me that I was welcome to walk home if I wanted (sarcastically), but that he drove and would drive me home if I wanted. I took the ride home (duh, it was cold and I was drunk…drive me, please!). We kissed for a minute in the car and then he joked that we’d be there all night if I didn’t get out of the car. I agreed and hopped out fast, telling him that I looked forward to seeing him again.

A few minutes later, I got a text from him so that I could have his number and then we said goodnight. We’ll see if he comes back around. Not a huge loss if he doesn’t, but I wouldn’t mind seeing him again.

Author: Jane Champagne

I'm a single late 20s chick, living in Boston. I go on a lot of horrible dates, but some good ones, too.

15 thoughts on “Mini Marky Mark

  1. A nice, normal bar hookup story. I like it.

  2. Aww I like this story!! I really do hope you two talk again because if he looks like Mark Wahlberg and seems to be a good guy, you’ve hit the jackpot!!! And I love that you added “Well, I’m cooler than most people” haha. Besides it being completely true, that’s the kind of confidence I like hearing about!

    • I’m kind of curious to see him in the light without drunk vision. I mean, I know he was attractive, but I’d like to see him normally haha. He had Mark Wahlbergish features. We’ll see how it goes 🙂

  3. Pingback: Are You Friggin' Kidding Me?

  4. Pingback: Meeting online vs real life « Are You Friggin' Kidding Me?

  5. Pingback: Need to break my own rule for this « Are You Friggin' Kidding Me?

  6. Pingback: Baby Bender « Are You Friggin' Kidding Me?

  7. Pingback: Holiday Update « Are You Friggin' Kidding Me?

  8. Pingback: Debating the next move « Are You Friggin' Kidding Me?

  9. Pingback: The Not-Boyfriend, vol. 2 « Are You Friggin' Kidding Me?

  10. Pingback: “I just love this girl, because she’s so awesome and everyone should love her” « Are You Friggin' Kidding Me?

  11. Pingback: So what’s going on, anyway? | Are You Friggin' Kidding Me?

  12. Pingback: Oh, hi. I’m still alive. | Are You Friggin' Kidding Me?

  13. Pingback: Wow, okay, so here’s a rundown of what’s up | Are You Friggin' Kidding Me?

Leave a Reply

