Are You Friggin' Kidding Me?

One Bostonian's Misadventures in Dating

The end of the Engineer

5 Comments

I don’t know why I named that one guy The Engineer. I live in Boston. Almost every guy here is an engineer. I’ve always regretted not majoring in engineering. Almost every guy I date is an engineer of some sort. So why I named that one guy The Engineer is beyond me.

Anyway, so what I didn’t mention to you about him before was that before we met up, while we were texting, my issues came up. Not specifically the major bomb, but he knew that I had a secret and didn’t want to share it with him right away. I was able to talk him into coming out the one night that I wrote about.

After that night, I didn’t hear much from him. He messaged me one day saying that I owed him a secret. We argued a bit and I (obviously) won. I told him that I don’t like sharing my life story with people after meeting them once. I also told him that it wasn’t a conversation that was good over text; it was meant to be face to face. He accepted that and told me he’d hear me out in person.

I already knew he wasn’t going to be cool with it, but I figured it was worth a shot. The worst that could happen was that he’d flip out and I’d never hear from him again. I had already kinda checked out when it came to him, so it wasn’t going to hurt me all that much if he took off. However, maybe he’d be okay with it and then things would be cool. So what the hell.

We made plans. We cancelled them. Made more plans. We cancelled them. Made plans again. He never got back to me on the day of the date. I gave up and moved on. Whatever.

What seemed like forever later (maybe 2 weeks?) he texted me at 2:30am, drunk. I happened to be awake and decided to go ahead and play whatever text game he had in store. He said we should hang out, that he felt bad, and wanted to make it up to me. He wanted to hang out right then, so I asked where he was. I didn’t think he was as drunk as he was so in my head, he was driving around near me. I told him he could come over to sleep it off if he needed to, since he lived an hour out of the way. Then I realized that he was in his hometown and was going to drive to me. I told him to go home and that we’d make plans for another night. He agreed.

A few days later he messaged me saying that he had a job interview in the city and asked if I wanted to meet up afterwards. We met up and drove around for an hour to find parking somewhere (Hi…it’s Boston. We don’t drive here). Ended up going to this fancy bar that I’m not a big fan of, but it had the baseball game on and we were both interested. I was bored the entire time and pretty annoyed with his attitude. He’s cocky, which was fun for awhile, but not when he “owed” me a date.

He also kept making “jokes” about how I was a stereotypical woman (because I’m always cold) and made some anti-military comments. He also went on for a good 5 minutes ranting about how he didn’t like cops; my response was, “My dad is a police chief”. Seriously, this was going nowhere.
He drove me home, I jumped out of the car and went inside. No kiss, no “let’s hang out again”, and no word from him since. I’m totally fine with it. And I never had to tell him my secret.

Author: Jane Champagne

I'm a single late 20s chick, living in Boston. I go on a lot of horrible dates, but some good ones, too.

5 thoughts on “The end of the Engineer

  1. Ugh how annoying!! He sounds like a jerk!! Plus, what is it with guys who think the minute they text you, you’ll be down to just hang out?! That’s so infuriating, don’t they realize amazing girls have things to do and can’t just drop everything for them?? But on a different note, are there really a ton of engineers in Boston?? I may just have to take a trip out there…

  2. This dude is astoundingly lame. The 2:30am drunk text isn’t a good look on anyone.

Leave a Reply

