Are You Friggin' Kidding Me?

One Bostonian's Misadventures in Dating

More on The Over-Sexter

Leave a comment

Alright, so if you haven’t, read about The Over-Sexter. Then go over to Singleosophy and read In Re: The Over-Sexter.

If you’ve done so, then this post will make sense. Otherwise, you’ll be confused.

Alright, so first of all, I love online dating. I like the idea of being able to weed out people before I even meet them, like The Over-Sexter. Or The Annoyance. Sometimes I go against my better judgement and take a chance, like The Baseball Date. Now, while I haven’t met anyone who I’ll spend forever with, I have found some good friends, like The Swede and even people that I didn’t mind spending time with for a while, like The Not-Boyfriend and Jeff Goldblum Boyfriend. I think it’s a lot of fun and love using it. Maybe it’ll work for real someday, maybe it won’t. Either way, I’m not that great at walking up to a guy somewhere and giving them my number, so for now, online dating works for me.

When I decided to sext back to The Over-Sexter, I went at him hard. I can make Christian Grey blush with some of the things I wrote (not that I’ve read 50 Shades of Grey, I just know the overall idea of the book. More on that another time). I’d show you exactly, but I’m a little embarassed to post those messages since I know some of my readers personally. Now, I knew that I probably wouldn’t scare him away, literally, but I was hoping to make him think twice about meeting up with me.
I was still going to meet up with him. Well, I was planning, to. I got hurt at the gym that night, but was still going to push through and go out. However, he said he was too scared to meet up with me, since he had admitted to jerking off at work because of my texts. I told him that awkward was fine and that we could still grab a drink and it would be chill. He was too nervous though. This leads me to believe that he went to a very prestigious institute of technology in Massachusetts. Not that that’s a bad thing, but I’m 0-3 when it comes to dudes from there, so I have a hard time thinking anyone male from that university is social adept.

Didn’t stop this part of the conversation from happening, though.

When he asked for another picture, I replied with this:

Sorry, Rainbow Dash is one of my personal heroes….seriously.

I agree with Grant- texting is a lame form of communication. I don’t mind using it with friends or when I’m seriously dating someone to send quick messages back and forth. However, I HATE long conversations through text. I really just don’t like typing with my thumbs, is what it comes down to.

I really hate too much conversation before a date. Leave something for us to talk about, c’mon! I don’t mind some brief conversations (mostly though email/OKCupid messasing) beforehand, but not long text conversations. I will be touching on that more soon when I write my continuation post about The Engineer.

Author: Jane Champagne

I'm a single late 20s chick, living in Boston. I go on a lot of horrible dates, but some good ones, too.

Leave a Reply

