Are You Friggin' Kidding Me?

One Bostonian's Misadventures in Dating

The Engineer

8 Comments

I saw no point in crying over JGB, so I jumped back on the horse and went on a date. Actually, before I went on this date that I’m about to mention, I went out with another guy that was SO boring, he’s not even worth a blog post. Sad. Anyway, moving on!

So on Wednesday, I sort of already had plans to go out to the bar with guys from the gym (including #SecretCrush since he’s finally back!), since our Jiu Jitsu instructor got his green card. However, I didn’t have any details and was procrastinating a little when I saw The Engineer’s OKCupid profile. He was pretty hot and seemed interesting enough, and I love engineers (see: Love of my Life) I clicked to meet him and he clicked back. We started flirting fairly aggressively right away, but not….bad. I don’t know how to explain it. Basically, we’re both cocky and it was just fun. We were going to meet up when my friends texted me with details, so I asked if I could raincheck for Friday night. He said it was fine. I gave him my number and went out with the guys.

He texted me on Thursday, throughout the day, mostly flirting. We talked about sex a little, which made me nervous since I feel that that never ends well. I asked him what he was looking for and adorably he said “I’m not supposed to tell you this, but I’m actually looking for something serious, but I’m not going to jump into anything either.” I said that I was looking for the same. He also told me that he actually doesn’t like hook up sex, and that he finds it disappointing. Now, he could have been just saying those things, but I like to think that he means them.

He texted me Friday morning and we texted on and off throughout the day. I wasn’t sure if he was still going to come out (things got a little iffy for a bit), but he did come out! He came over to my apartment, since I have parking spaces nearby, and asked if he could change clothes in my apartment (he came straight from work). I let him in and my roommates were impressed with his looks and manners. I’m serious, this guy is hot.

We settled on going to my favorite restaurant/bar, since it was storming and the place was nearby. Usually I don’t really drink much on a first date, but I made an exception for this guy. I don’t really know how to explain how our “relationship” is. We hit it off so well right off the bat, so going out with him felt easy. He has a very dominant personality, but not in an “I’m an asshole” kind of way. Just slightly cocky. Enough to make him fun (for me). Conversation was fun, he teased me quite a bit, but I knew that he was going to. It was a fun date. We both had quite a few beers with our dinner, which he paid for, and then we walked back to my apartment.

We sat on the back of his car for a bit and then I offered for him to come upstairs to my porch, since it was nice out and he didn’t want to drive home right away. We sat on the couch for a bit, but it was so muggy out. I then asked if he just wanted to go inside to my air conditioning and we could just watch tv or something. He agreed and inside we went.

After sitting on the couch for awhile, he put his arm around me and pulled me closer to him. We ended up cuddling for a little while…long while really, when he said “You know what I just realized? I haven’t kissed you yet.” I said “Nope, you haven’t.” and then he pulled me in for a small, light kiss. Very sweet. Line was a little cheesy, but I can be a sucker for that. We watched “It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia” for awhile while kissing every now and again.

Then suddenly, time flew by and I realized that we had fallen asleep on my couch, cuddling. Apparently my roommate had even come in and we had no idea, we were that passed out. We woke up, kissed some more, and then he decided that 3:30am was probably a good time to go home. So he left, leaving me with a last good night kiss and telling me that we’d make plans soon (but that he’d be busy this week since he’s moving, which I was already aware of).

So. There’s that. We’ll see where this one takes me.

Author: Jane Champagne

I'm a single late 20s chick, living in Boston. I go on a lot of horrible dates, but some good ones, too.

8 thoughts on “The Engineer

  1. Sounds like the perfect date!! =) Gotta love those engineers, especially hot ones!!

  2. Cool – sounds pretty great! A few of his lines do sound like “lines” but that doesn’t have to be a negative thing. I think it’s a good sign that he didn’t seem pushy for things to progress more quickly physically.

    • Oh, I’m aware that they sounded like “lines”. I’m trying to just take them as they are. I don’t want to buy into the completely, but I don’t want to be jaded either. Trying to not get my hopes up too high, but also not trying to punish him for things others guys did, too. He didn’t push at all, which is nice, so hopefully it’ll be alright. 🙂

  3. This is a pretty solid first date, JC. Grats.

    Personally, I want you to actively seek out the crazies so the stories are wilder, but if you want to try to find a quality guy, I guess I’ll just support you in your quest. 😉

    • I can seek out the crazies for you! I mean, I have a few stories I haven’t typed out yet, and I have some offers I haven’t accepted formally yet. Don’t worry… I’m sure something will go wrong here anyway (always does!), so there will be more soon, haha

  4. Pingback: More on The Over-Sexter « Are You Friggin' Kidding Me?

  5. Pingback: The end of the Engineer | Are You Friggin' Kidding Me?

Leave a Reply

