Are You Friggin' Kidding Me?

One Bostonian's Misadventures in Dating

More about The DJ

2 Comments

Alright, so this DJ of mine. So last time, I left off with him texting me, saying that he wished he had kissed me. I believe that’s where I left off anyway. Either way, that happened.

In the past 2 weeks, we’ve been texting/tweeting to each other nonstop. I had tried to keep it on the innocent side. The tweets are innocent, obviously, since that’s all public. Mostly we’re discussing sports or music or other general Boston-y things. The texts though- they start innocent and then go downhill from there.

This isn’t necessarily a bad thing. I’m not all that eager to jump into a relationship after dealing with the Not-Boyfriend for the past year. And for the past few months, I was exclusive to the NB and look where that got me. Nowhere.  

Wait, that makes it sound like I want to sleep around. No, I don’t want to sleep around. But I enjoy having my options open and being single. I love being able to send flirty text messages to the DJ. I like that I can meet up with the Baseball Player whenever I want to. I like that I can go out and meet guys anywhere and not feel guilty about it, especially for no reason.

So yes, the DJ and I have been flirting heavily. I knew as soon as it went down this road that we would not be dating (but, who knows! We’ll see! I’m just not going to get my hopes up about that with him). However, he’s a lot of fun. We had been trying to get together for drinks and hanging out, but our timing had been terrible. Both of us are pretty busy with our day jobs, my training at the gym, him DJ-ing, etc. So finally the other night, he texted me and I just happened to be free. He doesn’t live too far from me (about a straight shot two miles. He lives in one of my favorite areas of town, too, so it’s a plus for me if I ever visit him). So I went on over, spent a few hours there, fooling around and then talking about baseball and then he drove me home.

The next night he was DJ-ing at a different bar in our area of Boston. I wanted to go, but I didn’t want him to think I was going to be some stalker, so I brought it up to him. He told me that he would love it if I went and that I was awesome- no need to worry. 🙂  I grabbed some kids I work out with and we went over. I couldn’t hang out with him at this bar while he was DJ-ing, which is totally fine. However, I did send him song requests via text and we were joking back and forth to each other through out the night.

He did mention early that day that  a girl he went on a date with a week or so ago may be there, just to give me a heads up. So at the end of the night, when this girl was talking to him, I decided to not say bye and just left with my friends. He ended up texting me after I had left to make sure I had a good time and asked how the music was. I told him I loved the music and we all had a blast and planned on going to his 90s night coming up. I also told him that I was going to say bye, but didn’t want to interrupt him and the lady in case it was the girl he told me about it. He laughed and said “no no” and that’s that. I mean, I know a lot of DJs and ladies are ALWAYS trying to get up on them, so I guess it’s cool.

It’s funny because he’s the opposite end of the spectrum when it comes to guys I date. He’s really cool and laid back; he’s definitely not a player. Seeing as when I actually showed up the other night at his house, I said “Hey!” and he responded with “Ohmygoooood”. haha I still laugh about that.

So yea. Not a boyfriend, but definitely a new friend and make-out buddy, because seriously- who doesn’t need one of those?

Author: Jane Champagne

I'm a single late 20s chick, living in Boston. I go on a lot of horrible dates, but some good ones, too.

2 thoughts on “More about The DJ

  1. They always say you find someone when you’re least expecting it….;-)

Leave a Reply

