Are You Friggin' Kidding Me?

One Bostonian's Misadventures in Dating

Online Dating Hiatus

5 Comments

So while things are FAR from perfect with my Not-Boyfriend (long story that I won’t get into, but I think we’ll be okay for a little while at least), I have decided to disable my OKCupid.com account. It’s still there if I choose to go back, but I need a small break from it.

Honestly, I was only keeping it active so that I could see if the Not-Boyfriend was updating his profile. I never checked his profile after we started dating, but he would show up on my newsfeed if he edited anything. Usually, I’d get all snarky and edit my profile so that I’d show up on his newsfeed. I know, sometimes I react like a 15 year old girl.

Also, even if the Not-Boyfriend wasn’t in the picture, I’m just not interested in a lot of the people that were showing up as matches for me. I think I have “hidden” more users than I’ve chatted with (which is saying a lot). I’ve been getting a ton of creepy messages from guys, which was great to fill this blog with, but it was also annoying.

On top of that, I’d get messages from guys that I wouldn’t mind chatting and being friends with, but I felt like I was leading them on and that didn’t seem fair. If you’re on a dating site, you should be there for more than friends.

So there. My account is disabled for the time being. I will see my Not-Boyfriend on Friday, with any luck. I did notice he was lurking around on my LinkedIn.com profile today, which I found odd. We’re not connected on there, so I don’t know why he was there, but it’s all good.

Author: Jane Champagne

I'm a single late 20s chick, living in Boston. I go on a lot of horrible dates, but some good ones, too.

5 thoughts on “Online Dating Hiatus

  1. Pingback: Online dating profile demo… what to fill in the blank | How to Online Date

  2. Well, I can’t say I won’t miss your online dating rants.

  3. I’m rooting for you and Not-Boyfriend!! =)

Leave a Reply

