Are You Friggin' Kidding Me?

One Bostonian's Misadventures in Dating

The Guy with the Cat

8 Comments

Alright, I have this rule. Don’t trust a single guy with a cat. Sometimes, I forget this rule and tend to think “oh one cat is okay. More than that- no way.”

I am proven wrong every time.

Now I like cats. I do. And I don’t think there is anything wrong with a guy owning a cat. However, it turns out that they’re never the “right” guy for me. Sometimes I think it’ll be okay.

It never is.

Take this for example. I started talking to this really awesome guy. We had a lot of similar interests and he was really adorable. We had traded numbers and were trying to come up with a time to go out. He cancelled on me twice in one week, but with notice so I wasn’t too upset. Annoyed a little, because I wanted to go out with him, but I’m chill. Things happen. It’s cool.

Then finally! We were going out! He had confirmed and I was heading out my door when I got this text from him saying “Oh man. My roommate just texted me to say he accidentally let my cat outside.”

I didn’t think much of it. I said “oh no, poor kitty. He’ll be okay I’m sure.” and he was like “yea, I know, but he’s not used to the cold. I’m worried about him. My roommate is looking for him now.”

Again, I chugged along to the bar that we were supposed to meet up at. I stood outside for 45 minutes. 45 minutes. Now, part of that is my fault. I should have gone inside or left. But I texted him, asking if everything was alright. “I just spent the past hour looking for my cat. I still can’t find him. I’m worried.”

Seriously? It’s a cat. Yes, I’m sure it’s a cute cat, but that’s what cats do. When he’s hungry, he’ll come home.

So I went across the street to grab some coffee and chill out. After another 45 minutes, I chalk another one up to failure.

I got stood up for a cat.

Moral of the story: Don’t date a guy with a cat.

Author: Jane Champagne

I'm a single late 20s chick, living in Boston. I go on a lot of horrible dates, but some good ones, too.

8 thoughts on “The Guy with the Cat

  1. lucky i’m not into a guy with a cat but how about a guy with a dog?

  2. True story. I am going to pass this along to my female friends.

  3. Always trust a guy with a cat. Their willingness to put a cat first proves they’ll make a good slave for you too.

  4. Pingback: My Smoosh Requirements « Are You Friggin' Kidding Me?

Leave a Reply

