Are You Friggin' Kidding Me?

One Bostonian's Misadventures in Dating

The Baseball Player

6 Comments

Anyone that knows me knows that I’m an obsessed Red Sox fan. Even more than that, I just love baseball  in general. Not that I’m a jersey chaser by any means, but you can understand the appeal when a semi professional baseball player shows interest in dating someone like me. Especially one that looks a lot like Paul Rudd. 

So Mr. Rudd-lookalike walks into my life and we chat for a few days and end up going on a last minute date. We had plans but they had to be cancelled and rescheduled for that night due to he and his friends going on a trip to Montreal for winter break. That’s fine with me, I just wanted to meet the guy anyway. We went out and grabbed a beer at one of my favourite bars in my neighborhood. He was a little more touchy feely than I’m used to, but not in a bad way. Basically, about halfway through our date, he had his arm around me. Nothing major. He drove me home and asked if he could come upstairs. I stumbled over every word in my vocabulary because I didn’t see this coming at all. He laughed at me and said “don’t worry about it, I’ll just walk you to your door. Next time we’ll hang out longer”. He walked me to my door kissed me. The kiss was fantastic, so he went back for another and we stood there making out on my porch for a few minutes.

We texted a little bit that night (“thank you”, “tonight was fun”, “let’s hang out again soon”…etc) and then he texted me on his way to Canada the next morning. A few days later, he texted me “hey just crossed the border and was thinking about you. Want to get together tonight?”

I died. This boy was beautiful and into me and too good to be true. He came over that night and we watched The Other Guys. Major cuddling, major make out session, then a trip to my bedroom. Oops. Oh well, it was a pretty stellar evening.

 

Then it gets weird. OF COURSE IT GETS WEIRD. We hooked up, so of course it gets weird. His texts are few and far between, he stands me up a few times. He’ll booty call me and then not show up. I call him out on it and he’s like “ah sorry babe”. Whatever. 

 

So we’ve seen each other a few times since we’ve first met. Earlier I had asked something about this having a potential future or if this is just a hook up thing. He said he sees it as more than a hookup, but “let’s take it slow”. Yea, sure. 

Now, I don’t care if it’s just a hook up. Just let me know so I don’t look like a crazy person, thinking you’re my boyfriend. Or sort-of-boyfriend. Good Lord.

 

If you’re wondering, I’m treating it as a hook up situation. We get together every now and then, it’s always a good time, but that’s all it is. No biggie.

Author: Jane Champagne

I'm a single late 20s chick, living in Boston. I go on a lot of horrible dates, but some good ones, too.

6 thoughts on “The Baseball Player

  1. Pingback: Oh well look who decided to show back up. « Are You Friggin' Kidding Me?

  2. Pingback: More about The DJ « Are You Friggin' Kidding Me?

  3. Pingback: The Not-Boyfriend, vol. 2 « Are You Friggin' Kidding Me?

  4. Pingback: Oh, hi. I’m still alive. | Are You Friggin' Kidding Me?

  5. Pingback: Wow, okay, so here’s a rundown of what’s up | Are You Friggin' Kidding Me?

  6. Pingback: My personal history with BDSM | Are You Friggin' Kidding Me?

Leave a Reply

