Are You Friggin' Kidding Me?

One Bostonian's Misadventures in Dating

The Guy I Met on Halloween

Leave a comment

Oh Halloween. Oh how I love you. I love having you as an excuse to wear anything I want in the name of “costume” parties.

 

This year was the first year that I’ve even worn a “slutty” costume. Usually I come up with a clever costume and could care less if I had my cleavage or ass showing. This year, I opted for the simple slutty costume. 1920s mobster. It was great and I got to carry a gun and a flask.

 

Friends of mine and I went to a bar near our apartment for the Friday night of Halloween weekend. At one point in the night, I was bending over to put my flask back in my garter belt, when I felt a guy smack my ass. I stood up so quick and turned around to see a guy cowering, freaked out, thinking I was going to slap him. Instead, I grinned and said “I don’t know who did it, but good game!”

My friends laughed, since they apparently told the guy to do it, knowing I was in a good mood and would be fine with the caveman-esque form of flattery. I ended up chatting with the guy, Jeff, for a bit and he bought us some drinks. We started majorly flirting which led to us eventually making out and him getting a little grabby. Nothing too crazy, I’m not like that, but it was fun. We exchanged numbers after he told me multiple times that I’m “smoking hot” and “you HAVE to hang out with me again soon”.

We spent the weekend texting back and forth, trying to decide when to hang out again. He said he didn’t like going out during the week, but we could go out Friday or Saturday. That worked for me, so I didn’t think much of it. He added me to Facebook after he spent awhile stalking me, trying to find me on there. I thought it was looking good for  me for a while there.

On Tuesday or Wednesday (I can’t remember), I sent him a random text saying “hey, are you still taking me out this weekend?” just to be flirty. I get  a reply saying “Oh awkward, but I just went on a second date last night. Sorry, bad timing.”

 

What.

First of all- why the lies about waiting for the weekend? Like I’ve said before and will say a million times- JUST BE HONEST.

Second- a second date? That’s it? What world does this guy live in where a second date means it serious? Good Lord. I mean, sure you’re probably into this chick, so you want to just focus on her, but c’mon. Really? Let me have a chance to lure you away.

Third- There is no other girl. AGAIN, WHY LIE?! He never ended up on a relationship on facebook and guess who I found on plentyoffish.com recently? Yup. Looks like you missed out, buddy.

 

Idiots.

Author: Jane Champagne

I'm a single late 20s chick, living in Boston. I go on a lot of horrible dates, but some good ones, too.

Leave a Reply

